Music Hall of Fame Awards honors new inductees

ZZ Jimmy Fallon presents award to Justin Timberlake

Jimmy Fallon presents award to Justin Timberlake/photo submitted

By Cindy Dupree

The Memphis Music Hall of Fame honors many of the greatest musicians of all time, those who created the city’s musical legacy. At this year’s awards ceremony at Cannon Center for the Performing Arts in Memphis, inductees for 2015 included Sam Moore, Justin Timberlake, Scotty Moore, Charlie Rich, Alberta Hunter, Memphis Slim, and Al Jackson, Jr.

“Our city should be pleased that so many folks revere the people that have come out of this city, from Memphis Slim to Justin Timberlake,” says John Doyle, Memphis Music Hall of Fame executive director. “It’s great to see such a mix of genres and generations coming together.”

A highlight of the evening was Jimmy Fallon’s introduction of inductee Justin Timberlake along with a tearful yet entertaining acceptance speech from Timberlake. Keith Richards, guitarist and member of The Rolling Stones, was also onboard to induct friend and rock guitar pioneer Scotty Moore.

Leave a Reply